Can You Remember?

quotescover-JPG-22

I just watched a movie called Little Prince on Netflix. I was drawn to it because it said this little girl learned from the Little Prince how to see with her heart. This subject of seeing with your heart has been showing up a lot lately in my life. I keep reading it and even my daughter brought it up one day. She said we can’t see Jesus physically because we are blind. She went on to say that the only way we can “see” Him is with our heart. I read in a e mail devotion that our journey isn’t to find God, it’s to remove the blinders. I then read in Ann Voskamp’s book One Thousand Gifts devotional where she prayed for God to open the eyes of her heart. She said this is a journey that must be Spirit-led every day. This is a prayer that must be said every day, all through the day because we will forget moment to moment. That’s what the movie Little Prince was about, not forgetting how to see with your heart.  Ann also mentioned the blind man in the Bible, when Jesus asked what He wanted the blind man said,”I want to see.” Ann said this same thing to God and I have too. I want to see God in my every day life. The way to do that is with my heart. In the movie this little girl’s mother wants her to be prepared for adulthood but in doing this the girl doesn’t get to be a child. The old man next door, he hasn’t forgotten and he teaches the girl how to remember. I had a dream a few years ago and all I could remember when I woke up was grace remembered. I couldn’t figure out the meaning and I have thought I figured it out but really I didn’t until recently. When I was doing my One Thousand Gifts devotional it clicked! Ann was talking about doxology. I didn’t know the meaning so I looked it up. It is a hymn or form of words containing an ascription of praise to God. A lack of doxology leads to evil acts. Ann said forgetting to thank God dismembers us but counting blessings literally re-members us to God. My dream means to remember God’s graces toward me. The old man taught the girl how to see with her heart through a story he wrote about the Little Prince. Ann is saying to see God with your heart you have to be thankful for His grace. The movie showed me that if I can see God and Jesus with my heart then I won’t ever feel alone. The world is an illusion. We have to break through it to see the real life hidden in Jesus. The biggest thing I remember about being a child would be the feeling of security in my parents. I never worried about shelter, food, clothes, my needs were met. I never thought of the future or cared about it. This is what God says He will do if we just trust in Him. He says He will take care of our needs and desires. He says not to worry about the future because only He knows the future. Even though we are “grown”up we need God. We have to remember Him to have peace. The childlike faith I had in my parents should be what I have for God. When we forget who God is and fail to praise Him this leads to worldly ways and the Bible warns us to not be conformed to this world. When we conform to the world we are like robots. God gave us the ability to “see” Him but we have to remember how.

Leave a Reply

