Already In Heaven

Since earth is a replica of heaven, in a sense I am already serving God as if I were in heaven. Because I’m born again, I ‘m now a citizen of heaven. I like looking at my life in a way that makes it feel meaningful and purposeful. I have been reading Driven by Eternity by John Bevere. This book makes you think in detail about life and also when you stand before God. It came to me today that I’m already a resident of heaven and what I do here, I do in heaven. John talks in depth about what heaven will be like according to scripture and it has come to me that it’s a lot like here only a whole lot better. We will joyfully work for the Lord and we will want to work and serve for His glory.

I knew when I first got saved that my eternity began that moment, so why wouldn’t I begin living as if I’m already in heaven? When I cross over from this world, earth, to the next, heaven, it will just be a continuation. Some one said something to me the other day that makes a lot of sense. He said,” Do what you would do if God was watching you, cause He is.” It’s simple but we complicate it with do’s and don’t’s. The foundation is believing Jesus is the son of God, that He died and after 3 days rose again and is now seated at the right hand of God the Father. We build from that foundation, our lives. Some people stop at believing and they never build anything of eternal value. Me, personally, I want to build my life up in Christ. It says in the Bible that God wants us to become Christ-like. This is our spirit’s work while we are here. The power of the Holy Spirit works to bring our spirit into Christ-likeness but the Holy Spirit can only do what we allow because we have free-will. Your life on earth can be heaven or it can be hell, it’s your choice. It comes from the choices you make but also the perspective in your mind. John Bevere’s book helps you have eternal perspective. He opens your mind to the fact that this life on earth is not all there is. I choose to be open minded and look to eternity for a future with Jesus and all the people who have followed Him.

There is a segment of a book I’m reading I want to end with. The book is Hungry For More ofJesus by David Wilkerson. He is talking about the work of the Holy Spirit giving us a foretaste of the glory and love of Jesus while we are still here. I believe this is what happened to me that brought about my salvation. I never could put it into words but the way David does is the closest to what I experienced. “The Holy Spirit rolled back Heaven and they experienced a supernatural manifestation of His exceeding greatness. He gives us “a little heaven” to go to heaven with- a whetting of our appetites. He opens windows of Heaven and lets us look into the glory that will be ours. We get a taste of His holiness, His peace, His rest, His love- and we are forever spoiled for this earth, because we yearn for the fullness of what we have tasted.”

I listened to a sermon recently on Eternal Over Temporary by Kyle Idleman and I have included it here. It’s only 30 min long and has a very important message. Pay attention to the beginning because he wraps it back around to the start and it’s so awesome!

https://www.southeastchristian.org/sermons/get-over-yourself/eternal-over-temporary/

Leave a Reply

