Pray The Psalms With Me

I had another dream and it  has to do with prayer. I was in a room with people and there was a pastor and he was pointing at us saying prayer, prayer, prayer. I looked at my left shoulder and saw steam rising up and I knew it was the Holy Spirit. I asked him to pray for me to be willing to pray and he put his hand on my head and I woke up.

I didn’t remember the dream until I saw the word prayer the next day. So, I followed the Holy Spirit and found that reading the Psalms is praying to God. My mom said the Psalms are about our relationship with God. I began reading Psalm 1  and I use the SOAP method to get deeper meaning. As I read each chapter I’m going to document what I get from it. So, this entry is about Psalm 1 and it has 6 verses. I am writing this because I feel God speaking to me through the verses.

Psalm 1:1 emphasizes how a person who follows God’s ways will be happy, prosperous and I will add peaceful and whole. I know this because I have experienced it. This person doesn’t listen to ungodly counsel and doesn’t hang out with people who are not living according to God’s laws. They set themselves apart from worldy ways and only follow God’s way. Psalm 1:2 says this type of person delights and desires God’s Word so much so that he will meditate on it day and night. Psalm 1:3 says this person will be like the tree planted by streams of water which means they will be strong in spirit. They will produce what God planted in them in God’s timing. They will come to full maturity in whatever they do. I take this as who ever spends time with God is not doing it in vain. They will see the fruits of it in God’s timing. He will stay strong and not grow weary. By staying in the Word of God I will stay strong. Psalm 1:4 warns us that those who are disobedient to God’s Word will get blown away like the wind blowing chaff. If we aren’t rooted and grounded in the Word of God we can be swept away by worldy ways. Psalm 1:5 says people who aren’t living in God’s will are considered wicked and will not be justified on judgement. They haven’t accepted Jesus as Lord and savior. There are also people in the congregation who believe they are saved but they aren’t. We need to make sure we aren’t hypocrites! It does matter to be praying and talking to God daily. As Psalm 1:6 points out that Jesus knows the righteous because they have spent their time with Him. Those who haven’t lived in God’s will, will perish.  Matthew 7:21 Jesus says, “Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter.

Prayer

Father, forgive me for going astray. Thank you for pulling me back on track. Help me continue the right path and God’s will for my life. Help me to be a God pleaser. Holy Spirit continue to do Your work in me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

